Commuting and Writing

World, I’ve finally gotten back into the groove of things. I’d like to take a second and thank my doctors, who have been amazing over the past few months, and my new boss; without this new position, I’d be stuck in a constant changing schedule where I never got any personal stuff done. It’s been a great switch so far and finally I have structure again.

Now on to the actual reason for my post. I’ve discovered a great new time to start writing. When, you ask? Well it should be an obvious enough answer, but for some reason I found it near impossible until now. Thanks to my phone and its memo app, I now write everyday (well, almost) while commuting to and from work.  Brilliant, right?

I know, I know, I’m not the first to do this and it isn’t groundbreaking by any means, but like I said, I could never do this until now. When I lived in New Hampshire it was impossible. Well, I guess I could have written while driving 45 minutes to work every day, but it wouldn’t have been the safest thing in the world.

Now, however, I ride the T for a good 30 minutes to and from work. That’s a full hour a day that would be wasted away playing candy crush or overthinking a myriad of things for no reason. But instead I’ve converted it to pure production.  And that has re-sparked my writing every day.

Now, I challenge all of you other struggling writers out there to find that wasted time and use it for the better good. Take advantage of every second you can because the ideas will never stop flowing.

-Your Currently Undefeated Bracket Picker…for now

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

