Magic League

For those of you who don’t know, I am a huge fan/player of MTG. What can I say? The game has a massive variety to it and is very strategic. Two things that stroke my addiction nerve.

Though I’ve never been able to keep up with standard monetary wise nor time wise, I’ve always loved to play. Most of the time it’s kitchen table, though i do love me an FNM when I get the chance. Sealed is probably my favorite format. It allows you to see why otherwise terrible cards are made and shows you their true power.

Anyways, over the past year some of my friends and I came up with a crazy format idea. Something that would cost us little to nothing to play but feed our deck building itches and get us to gather to play at least twice a month. This idea was a Magic League with a rotating custom standard. Simply put, it was amazing.

We not only got to experience every set, but we also got to compete against one another with standings, favored colors, and all sorts of other stats tracked along the way. But as all good things it had to end eventually. And it did thanks to distance and work and school and what not.

Luckily, I was able to put together a new League recently via Reddit. December is our first month of competition and I can’t wait to compete. I just hope it has the same success as my previous endeavor.

-Your Naya Beast Wrangler

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

