Minions

I’m a big fan of Despicable Me (and Despicable Me 2!). And as much as I love Gru and the girls, I have to admit that the minions are the best(well maybe Dr. Nefario but he’s just so old). Me and my friend have this inside joke about how the movies needed those hilarious yellow guys because nobody would want a Gru action figure. It’d be creepy and horrible. Found out today they exist! They’re actually pretty snazzy. Not as cool as the minion Dave one though.

At any rate, as great as the movies are; I think it’s pretty clear the minions helped sky rocket its success. I wonder if the creators put a lot of thought into that. I mean, you never know what’s going to make it big. Twilight, Hunger Games, 50 Shades of Grey (guh), Harry Potter; some things just work. 

I have no problem seeing the writers add in the minions as a comic relief and not thinking much of them at first. The same way Quincy has a pet Easter Bunny named Snuggles. It was never my intention to make Snuggles a huge character, but people love him. So I intend on giving people more and exploring what I can do with him myself. I could see the same effect from the minions. People loved them, so they had a bigger role in the second movie. And hopefully we’ll see more of them in the future. But only to an extent. There gets a point where enough is enough. Look at Shrek. I don’t even know how many Shrek movies there are any more, but I hope they stop making them for a while. It gets to the point of beating a dead horse and ends up killing the character. I’ve always hated to watch that happen.

The lesson in all this is: we can’t choose, or know, what our audiences will love. So buckle down, do what you love, keep an open ear, and give them everything you got. You never know, you could invent the next minions!

 

-Your Usual Boogie Robot Owner

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

