Art Collection

One of the many tactics I stumbled upon in my research for learning how to write better is keeping a folder of art.  The idea is that you can open the folder whenever you have writer’s block to get ideas or be inspired. I’ve also found it useful to create collages for different characters. I’m not much of an artist, but I know what I want a character to look like and can give a good feel from various drawings put together. It also helps when you want to describe them. You can pop open the collage and look at an image to help you find the words your looking for.

 

I think every writer should practice doing this. It has worked wonders, and has given me endless ideas. People are creative. There are a million ideas and views of things in the world. It’s great to see people create thing I would never in a thousand years have thought of. It’s simply amazing.

Today I stumbled upon Mike Burns via /r/imaginarymonsters. I haven’t looked at a lot of his work, but I love his rendition of Count Chocula, Frankenberry, and Boo Berry here -> http://artburns.blogspot.com/2012/07/end-of-cereal-monsters.html .

-Your Fellow Art Lover

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

