Motivation

As you know, over the past year I started to follow one of my dreams. This of course is writing. I think it is important that people follow their dreams, whatever they may be, and I think a key component to this is motivation. Unfortunately, motivation isn’t always at hand. Life changes, things happen, there are tens of thousands of little reasons not to do something. Tens of thousands of little events that pull you off track. You  meet someone who catches your eye; time goes into that. You had a long day at work, and just want to relax; time is wasted there.

See, sometimes what you really want requires work, dedication, time. Time that you don’t have. If there’s anything I know, it’s that there is never enough time. Time is precious. Sometimes to get what we want we have to give up other things. A night out, that one cute girl, hanging with friends, completing a masters degree. I think it really boils down to understanding what you really want in life. Which, if we’re honest with ourselves, the majority of us really don’t know. Hell, even I don’t really know, but I think I know, so I guess that’s something.

This isn’t an easy thing to do. Giving up certain things isn’t always desired. And that’s where motivation comes in. For me, music had been a big motivator with anything in my life. It’s gotten me through the lows, has forced me to move on, has gotten me to crack down and do work, and much more. Cause let’s face it, no matter how much will power you have, there are just some days you break down on it. And that’s ok. Even when getting fit, doing P90x, insanity, t25, or whatever, a skipped day isn’t the end of the world. But it’s always nice to get that extra boost.

Anyways, I’m rambling I’m sure. My point is, that one of the biggest motivators I’ve had over the past year in specific, music wise at least, has been Big Sean. You can think it sounds silly or whatever, but listen to his lyrics. He’s pretty down to earth, and 90% of his raps are about putting in the work and doing what you need to do to get what you want.

For all of those of you out there feeling down, or procrastinating on following that dream, force yourself to get at it.

“Can do anything in the world except not do it.” – Big Sean

-Your Time Desiring Word Weaver

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

