We flex, like 90 PX

Yesterday, Shaun T’s new workout program, T25 came out for the masses to train with. This inspired me to write this post for several reasons. The main one being that Shaun T changed my life.  And since I believe everyone should strive to live healthier lives. It’s not easy, but it is totally worth it. 

I used to be like the average person up until my first semester as a grad student. I didn’t care about what I ate. I paid no mind to my physical abilities. I didn’t care if I could run a mile or not. Eating half a pizza was normal. ( I admit I still do that every now and then too. I mean, you have to indulge sometimes right?) But, thanks to a girl leaving me who I had fallen completely head over heels for at the time, I found myself thoroughly depressed the fall of 2010. How did I deal with that depression? Shaun T’s Insanity.

 

I was depressed, and nowhere near in shape. Luckily, one of my friends happened to have the videos, so I borrowed them and went to work. I’m not gonna lie, it wasn’t easy. Every day sucked. But , I was determined and fueled. Every painful push-up of Level 1 Drills or Pure Cardio I huffed out all those built up feelings. I honestly don’t think I would have made it through without that depression, and despite as much as it hurt, I’m glad that it all happened.  I am also very thankful for Shaun T.  

Insanity sucks. It’s the most exhausting 40 minutes a day I’ve ever experienced. However, Shaun T manages to keep you going. He gets you to push yourself beyond what you ever thought you could possibly achieve. Simply put, Shaun T is the best motivator I’ve ever had. 

 

Since Insanity, I’ve managed to go through P90X twice, which is an amAzing program, and P90X2 once so far, though I’m on my second run through it now. Tony Horton knows his stuff. And I feel P90X and X2 are the most best programs for overall fitness. They work every aspect of your body and yield great results. As much as I love Tony and his corny jokes and hilarious moves, Shaun T is a better motivator.  

If you’re not in shape, I implore you to try one of the Beachbody boot camps. You CAN do it, if you want to. And yea, it’ll suck, it’ll be hard. But the end result is worth the effort. A healthy body feels a million times better than an unhealthy one. It’s great to be able to touch your toes or go for a run anytime you want. Or to walk up stairs without getting winded. All things I’m very happy I can do now that I didn’t used to be able to.  

 

How does this all apply to writing? Well, completing Insanity changed my way of life health wise, but it also changed my mentality on all aspects of life. It showed me that if I tried hard enough I could do anything. Pending my eating habits, on a good week I have a six pack now. That is something I would never have in a million years thought possible. It blows my mind. If I can do that, then I can write. With enough effort and determination, and practice, I can do anything. Like all of my fellow indie writers out there, I am bursting at the seems with stories to tell. And I fully intend on making them the best they can be and sharing them with the world to enjoy.  

 

As Tony Horton says, “You can do anything or 30 seconds” . It’s all about taking steps, and practice. As I hope all of you will. I will write these stories no matter how long it takes, 1000 words at a time.

I apparently don’t have any full body before photos, but hopefully this can help you see the difference determination can make.  

ImageImage

 

Imageafter.

-Your Fitness Obsessed Word Weaver

P.S. – If you want to get in shape and don’t know how to start etc. I’m more than happy to provide you with any information I have. A few good resources to check out are the boards over at Team Beachbody, the community there is great and very helpful. Also, I haven’t used it much myself, but I hear great things about the fitness community on reddit. There are subreddits for all the programs too I believe ( Insanity, P90, X, X2) but I’m not sure how up to date they are. 

 

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “We flex, like 90 PX

  1. jokelly65 says:

    Great job I hope this post motivates people.

Leave a Reply

