July is Dragon Month!

At the beginning of July, the new Write About Dragons session begins.  I don’t know about anyone else, but I’m very excited to be participating in it this year. It’s the next best thing to actually being able to take the class. For those of you who don’t know, Write About Dragons is an online community where you can take Brandon Sanderson’s writing class virtually with a group of other writers.  It doesn’t count for any actual credit, but I believe it is still great practice, and am hoping it will be a great way to meet other aspiring writers to formulate strong bonds with.  I lack a writing group, and am really looking forward to the opportunity of working with one.

 

If you have never heard of this course, you can go to the website : writeaboutdragons.com to check it out. The idea is to start from scratch and create a novel over the course of the class from start to finish. Each week, a new lesson is posted and every week you have to submit so much writing and critique so much other writing. Obviously, as the name suggests, it is geared more towards fantasy and science fiction writing, but in his lectures Sanderson has noted that other genres are welcome.  The only downside to the online course to me, is that Sanderson himself will not be giving his opinion on our works. But, as Nana used to say, you can’t always have your cake and eat it too.

Personally, I think Sanderson does a great job teaching. If you’re an aspiring writer and you haven’t watched any of his courses yet, I highly suggest you do. You can find a previous year- Last year’s maybe?- on youtube. The entire course is posted for free to learn from. He does a great job; is very clear and helpful. 

 I’ve just begun to create the basis for my project for the course. I’m very intrigued by Steam Punk; possibly because of the engineer side of me. Something about wacky inventions, mad scientists, and the like grab me.  To me, the genre poses the question: ‘What if this type of contraption existed in a crazy inefficient mechanical way?’ – or at least something along those lines.  So, I’ve created a ‘Scientific Order of Society’ – I guess that’s the best way to describe it. Anyways, I can’t wait to bring loads of mad scientists to life.

Are you ready to write about dragons?  I sure am.

 

-Your Diabolical Mechanic of Twisted Devices

 

There’s a high possibility this is part of the reason I want to write this story.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “July is Dragon Month!

  1. I will see you there! Registering right now!

Leave a Reply

