Infinite Story

First of all, before we get into the real reason for this post wanted to comment on how fast it takes to get blood drawn. I went to get it done the other day and I think I spent a total of 5 minutes in the building from the time I walked in without a preset appointment to the time I left with the taped cotton ball. The process blew my mind, though other people don’t seem to be amazed at the process,; I am thoroughly impressed. Kudos to you, health care system.

 

With that out of the way, let’s get on with it. Today I want to talk a little about Bioshock Infinite. Bioshock Infinite is the second game, the other being the new Tomb Raider, to hold my attention in quite some time. It is simply brilliant thus far. I haven’t finished it yet, though I’m on the verge and wish I had much more playing time left.

 

I’m going to skip over gameplay details and focus on two things here: the story and the story telling. What else did you expect from a writer? Also, be forewarned here that I mean accidentally give away spoilers. I assure you it is not my intention, but in case you haven’t noticed I don’t even read over these things a second time before I post them. It’s not that I don’t want to. Maybe someday when I’m successful and don’t have a day job sucking every ounce of initiative out of me I’ll give it a try. Maybe.

 

I, for one, absolutely love the story telling in the Bioshock franchise. Sure they tell it the old fashioned way that everyone else does through ‘cinematic’ sequences, but it’s the additional audio files you find and listen to that are unique and work amazingly well. Picking up one of those files is exciting every time. And the best part? You can get the story without pausing your gameplay? I mean talk about streamlining the process. I think they really help submerse you more into the game as well. The files cause you to really focus your hearing on to the game and ignore everything else.  It causes you to activate your imagination to picture things happening in the game world as you’re playing. Now if that isn’t gaming on another level, I don’t know what is. A truly genius plot telling device. On the other hand, though the old time movie things are neat, I don’t think they add anything.

 

 

As for the plot itself? So far I like it a lot.  Granted I don’t the ending but it’s good. I think the world is brilliantly unique. The whole idea of the prophet and how they distort American history is fun and a nice change. And the two cross dimensional twins-who I have a huge hunch about but don’t know for sure yet- are quirky and unique. They add a nice mystery to the game and make you want to listen to the audio files to learn more about. And Elizabeth? Who doesn’t like a helpful, un-annoying, alternate dimension door opening NPC? No one, that’s who. And she’s pretty cute to boot.

 

 

AS always, I’m sure I’m forgetting to say something I really want to. But shout me your input and we can talk more about it. I’m still obsessively playing it, so of course I want to talk about it 24-7.

 

-Your Super Fatigued Bucking Bronco-Hand Cannon Combo Lover

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

