Story Matters, and so does a hot Lara Croft.

I’ve never been a fan of the Tomb Raider games over the years. I don’t know why really. I played one or two and couldn’t get into them.  To be honest, I had taken the opinion-like I’m sure others had too- that they were just using the games as an excuse to show off Lara Croft.  

With that said, as soon as I saw the trailer for the reboot I got excited. It looked so raw and rugged; and the new Lara Croft look was also an upgrade IMO. So naturally, I went out on a limb and bought it. What’d I think? It’s awesome.  

 

I don’t think I’ve ever played a game in which I’ve felt constantly in peril. The game keeps you on your toes constantly. Half the time you can’t even walk without something bad happen. It’s great. And you know what surprised me the most? The story. It was actually good and entertaining, which is something to say for most games now a days.

Now, Square has a great history of games with great stories, but even they have been sliding down hill lately. I know some of you don’t play games for their stories, but I am a huge sucker. I find the story of a game to be way more important than it is given credit for. Sure you could mindlessly waste hours away as a Dovahkiin with almost no rhyme or reason (cause let’s face it, the majority of us paid little to no attention to what was actually happening on the side quests. Though I will admit there were one or two that were actually captivating. Like the one where you go on a drunken bender and figure out what you did) but personally I’ve always loved games that held more meaning.

 

Just look at Arkham City. Yes the game play was amazing, but so was the story, and despite how cool it was to be the Batman, the story held my attention from start to finish. I couldn’t wait to see what happened next.

 

In a sea of games that come up with very poor over all story and character development, Tomb Raider delivered. And I must say I have a new found respect for Lara Croft. She is a straight beast, and a sexy one to boot! I just hope she continues down this path for years to come.

 

-Your Everyday Lara Croft Lover

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

