4,000 words

If you ask anybody how to get into writing, they’ll all have the same advice. Write, write, write, write some more and read. Read everything you can get your hands on. Solid advice. The only way you’ll get better at something is if you practice and study. 

A good practice to get into as a writer is to set a daily word count to meet. I believe I read someplace that professional authors like Stephen King write between 2 and 3000 words a day. Which is actually quite a bit. Especially fictional writing. The brain has to work out what comes next, how things look, sound, and feel. Hopefully one day I can attribute enough of my time to achieve this.

For the time being my goal is set to about 700 words a day. I mentioned this before in my 3 books a year post. I think it’s a very achievable number, though I’ll admit sometimes I don’t hit it. And I’m ok with that.

Today was a great day though. I not only hit my goal, but pumped out a whopping 4000 words. That’s a solid two and half chapters for me typically. Day’s like these are awesome as a writer. You get whisked away into the story in much the same way a reader would. At least that’s how I feel. It really writes it self. I just get the pleasure of being the first to experience it and the misfortune of fixing all the errors.

 

At any rate. Booming days are what we writers live for. Writing is what we enjoy. It’s more than a hobby, it’s fun and addicting. I’d compare a 4000 word day to a day where you get to play that perfect video game for 12 hours straight. It’s that good.

So cheers to all you struggling writers out there. I hope you and I both get many more of these amazing trips into beautiful fictional worlds.

-Your Friendly Neighborhood Rambler 

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

