Golden Sun and More Magic Talk

Since my last post about the whole science thing and magic systems I’ve been thinking about a good rpg to play. I’ve been on a bit of a video game break lately. I just don’t have time to spend countless hours playing them with all the reading and writing i need to do to become a writer. Reading is the only way to learn the craft better that’s entertaining really. I can’t learn how to take a reader away into never neverland by playing pokemon. Not unless I’m writing a video game plot I suppose.

At any rate, I love video games and the lack of them in my life recently sucks. There are no new ones out that I really have the urge to play. RE5 was the most recent one and it was a pretty big let down. So like most anyone else I complained about this first world problem to one of my friends because it’s better than talking to a wall.

My friend told me how he recently started replying Golden Sun and how it used ot be one of his favorite RPGs. Naturally, I decided to give it a go.It’s fun so far by the way, not mind blowingly amazing, but fun.

The main reason I find the game fun is the Djinn system. I really like how you can mix and match setting different types of Djinns to achieve different abilities for each character. It makes the magic system fun and something you can fool around with. Which brings me to my post last week. About how an intriguing magic system can make you really want to be somebody, or in this case play a particular game.

So I begaan analyzing my favorite gaes over the past and their magic systems and wouldn’t you know, the ones with that I liked the ebst had well defined, cool, magic systems. For instance FFVIII.

FFVIII is easily top 2 for my favorite Final Fantasy game. The story! The charcters! The summons! One of the best things to me about FFVIII was the summons, and how you could apply different spells to different abilities to boost them. This was not only well defined but also provided a bit a puzzle to solve in order to maximize results. I never realized until now that the reason I loved this game so much was due to this factor. Though I must admit chocobos always multiply coolness by at least 3; 5 if you get to ride them.

It really makes me appreciate all those ocuntless hours spent putting these together. In many cases, like a book, the magic system can seem like such a little detail, but it can really make or breka the entire experience. How many video games have you played with boring magic systems? Where you just go to the store by a scroll and learn the spell. How uneventfull is that compared to leveling the magic itself, or being able to use it to fine tune your characters in a unique way? Sure there are cases where boring magic belongs and works, like Yu-Gi-Oh!. Seriously, how does it work? I mean I’ve never followed it, but the few times I’ve watched it wiht my nephews I jsut didn’t understand. It as like cards just did whatever the writer needed them to do for the plot.

At anyrate, mayjor props to the Square Enixs of the world who provide us with creative interesting ways of magic.

-Your Favorite Blogging Blitzball Player

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Golden Sun and More Magic Talk

  1. Literally laughed out loud at blogging blitzball.

Leave a Reply

